Announcing the 2019 EUSA Prize Competitions!


2019 EUSA Haas Fund Fellowship Competition

The EUSA Executive Committee is pleased to announce the 2019 EUSA Haas Fund Fellowship Competition, an annual fellowship for graduate student EU-related dissertation research funded by contributions to our Ernst Haas Memorial Fund for EU Studies, launched in June 2003 to honor the memory of the late scholar Ernst B. Haas (1924-2003).

We will offer a minimum of 2 unrestricted fellowships of at least $2,000 to support the dissertation research of any graduate student pursuing an EU-related dissertation topic in the academic year 2019-2020.

Please note the following stipulations for applicants, who must:

  • be pursuing the doctoral degree (PhD) at an accredited institution in any country;
  • be writing a dissertation in English;
  • have an EU-related doctoral dissertation topic approved by the professor who will supervise it;
  • be able to demonstrate clearly the relevance to EU studies of the dissertation topic.

Applicants for this Fellowship should submit:

(1) A Curriculum Vitae;

(2) A 300-word description of the dissertation research project that explains its relevance to EU studies;

(3) A 100-word statement that specifies how the fellowship would be used.

(4) Two letters of support to be sent directly to EUSA. These letters should be from professors serving on the student’s dissertation committee, and one should be the chair. They MUST be sent as a pdf attachment to with the subject line “2019 Haas Prize.”

Please submit applications online at The firm deadline for applications to be received is November 18, 2018.  The fellowship will be paid in one lump sum by check and in US dollars only.

2019 Award Committee consists of Matthias Matthijs (Johns Hopkins University, Chair), Sara Wallace Goodman (UC Irvine), and Stephanie Hofmann (Graduate Institute, Geneva).


EUSA Prize for Best Dissertation

The EUSA Prize for Best Dissertation in EU studies will be awarded in May 2019 to a dissertation written in English on any aspect of European integration between September 1, 2016 and August 31, 2018. The student must have defended and deposited the final dissertation and graduated during this period as well. Only one dissertation per department at an institution may be nominated for this prize. The prize carries a cash award of $250. Please submit applications online at The dissertation should be uploaded there, together with a short cover letter from the Department Chair. The deadline is November 18, 2018

2019 Award Committee consists of Christina Schneider (UC San Diego, Chair), Sven-Oliver Proksch (University of Cologne), and Robert Thomson (Monash University).


EUSA Best Book Prize

The 2003-05 Executive Committee of the European Union Studies Association established the EUSA Best Book Prize, to be awarded at each biennial EUSA conference, for a book in English on any aspect of EU studies and published in the two years prior to the EUSA Conference. This prize carries a cash award of $300 for the author(s). For the 2019 EUSA Book Prize, books published in either 2017 or 2018 will be eligible. To be considered, authors or publishers MUST submit three (hard) copies of the nominated book (with a letter of transmittal) – one directly to each member of the EUSA Book Prize committee (mailing addresses below), as well as submit an application online at

Both of these steps must be completed for the book to be considered. The deadline for receipt of the books by the committee members is November 18, 2018. The names and addresses of the committee members are:


Frédéric Mérand, Chair

706A Bloomfield

Outremont QC

H2V 3S3



Kalypso Nicolaidis

Dept. of Politics and International Relations

University of Oxford

Manor Road

Oxford OX1 3UQ



Craig Parsons

Department of Political Science

1284 University of Oregon

Eugene, OR 97403-1284