EUSA Conference 2017: Miami

EUSA Fifteenth Biennial Conference
May 4-6, 2017
Miami Florida
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Click here to upload your 2017 Conference paper

See the 2017 EUSA Conference program!

View the Call for Proposals


Featured events at the EUSA Conference

Thursday May 4

Plenary 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Roundtable – The Eurozone and the crisis of legitimacy


                        Erik Jones (Johns Hopkins University)

                        Vivien Schmidt (Boston University)

                        Kate McNamara (Georgetown University)

                        Waltraud Schelkle (London School of Economics and Political Science)

                        Matthias Matthijs (Johns Hopkins University)


Public Plenary 5:15 p.m. – 6:45 p.m.

             Jonathan Faull-The EU After Brexit


Friday May 5

Plenary Roundtable - Brexit 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.


                        Anand Menon (Kings College London)

                        Chris Bickerton (Cambridge University)

                        Alasdair Young (Georgia Institute of Technology)

                        Dan Kelemen (Rutgers University)

                        Kalypso Nicolaidis (University of Oxford)


JCMS Sponsored Lecture 5:15 p.m. – 6:45 p.m.

           James Caporaso-Europe’s Triple Crisis


Saturday May 6 

Plenary 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Panel in Honor of Lifetime Achievement in European Studies Award Recipient George Ross

     Is There a Way Forward for the EU and EU Studies?

         Chair: Frédéric Merand (University of Montreal)


                        Alberta Sbragia (University of Pittsburgh)

                        Sabine Saurugger (Sciences Po Grenoble)

                        Jonathan Faull (European Commission)

                        Andrew Moravcsik (Princeton University)


Plenary Panel  3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

        Theorizing the EU in the Age of Nationalism


                        Luuk van Middelaar (Leiden University)

                        Rebecca Adler-Nissen (University of Copenhagen)

                        Adrian Favell (University of Leeds)

                        Juan Diez Medrano (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)                                              

                        Ruud Koopmans (Berlin Social Science Center)


Plenary Panel  5:15 p.m. - 6:45 p.m.

The Transatlantic Relationship in Troubled Times

        Chair: Alasdair Young (Georgia Tech)


                        Rachel Epstein (University of Denver)

                        Abraham Newman (Georgetown University)

                        Michael H. Smith (University of Warwick)

                        Ben Tonra (University College Dublin